Home Videos FAQ Meetings Join Radio
Library Links

MWOTRC Luncheon, June 2014
(Please click on any photo to see a larger image.)

The 30th Anniversary of the MWOTRC was celebrated on June 7, 2014 in the banquet room of P. J. Skidoo's Restaurant in Fairfax, VA. Michael Hayde had arranged for this special luncheon and he and his wife greeted all of the arrivals at the door, passed out laminated souvenir entree cards to the members and their guests, totaling 52 merry souls. All were also given a large 16 page program souvenir booklet, which like the entree cards, were created by Mark and Marsha Bush.  Ellen Berney modified the club logo for the 30th anniversary special verbiage

As the meal ended, Jeff Whipple and Michael Hayde took over the podium as Masters of Ceremonies. One of the first introductions was Ron Barnett, who with Jim Burnette in 1984, began this old-time radio club. Lifetime Membership Awards were presented to Alice Daniels and Sedge Moss. Alice was our club secretary in the olden days (before email) who mailed out post cards to the members reminding them of our meetings; Sedge had served as Vice President and oversaw our "out-reach programs" to various senior venues.

Ed Walker then gave the key-note speech, complementing the club on reaching this milestone and then entertaining us with several audio clips of great announcers getting into big trouble on live radio, i.e. with hiccups, sneezes, and uncontrollable giggles. Rounds of laughter filled the banquet room as the likes of Arthur Godfrey, Lowell Thomas and Paul Harvey stumbled their way through their scripts.