Home Videos FAQ Meetings Join Radio
Library Links

This story was published in Radio Recall, the journal of the Metropolitan Washington Old-Time Radio Club, published six times per year.

Click here to return to the index of selected articles.

(From Radio Recall, October 2009)

Congratulations are in order for one of our long-time MWOTRC members and great booster for our Club. Ed Walker was inducted into the National Radio Hall of Fame in August 2009. This honor was accorded Ed by this hall of fame, which is affiliated with the Museum of Broadcast Communication in Chicago, IL.

Ed was the Washington, DC host of "Play it Again, Ed" that aired on WMAL–AM and garnered one of the largest audiences in DC radio history. Walker and radio partner, Willard Scott, were known as the "Joy Boys" on WWDC and WRC. Walker currently hosts "The Big Broadcast" on WAMU-FM featuring classic programs from the 30s, 40s and 50s.

Other inductees this year were Neal Boortz, Norman Pattiz, and Wendy Williams. In addition, three inductions were awarded posthumously: Jose Agrelot, Harry Callas, and Studs Terkel.

Ed expressed his appreciation to our club and asked our President Edgar Russell III to thank all the members who voted for him.

For more information go to:

radiohof.org or wamu.org

All of our readers salute Ed for this honor he received and we look forward to many more years of hearing his voice over the radio microphone.